Home » Primary Curriculum

Primary Curriculum

(Cambridge Primary Curriculum)


The Cambridge Primary curriculum covers the core subjects of English, Mathematics and Science. The curriculum provides subject content, planning and resource guides, guidance for curriculum implementation and development, plus support for classroom teaching and student learning. Because it is a programme which has been developed with consistent standards that are externally benchmarked across tens of thousands of students, it enables reliable structured reporting to parents about the performance of their children, which has validity beyond the school.

Cambridge provides two types of testing for use at the end of a stage (school year) and at the end of the primary programme (end of Grade 5): Cambridge Primary Progression Tests and Cambridge Primary Checkpoint. Cambridge Primary Checkpoint is a diagnostic assessment tool for the end of the Cambridge Primary programme in English, Mathematics and Science (end of Grade 5). Students have to be entered for the tests with Cambridge and the question papers are issued from and returned to Cambridge for marking. Analysis and certificates are provided to the school by Cambridge after about two months.

Additionally, students in Primary take Cambridge English exams such as Young Learners English: Starters, Movers, Flyers and Key English Test for Schools externally provided by Cambridge English Language Assessment at the end of the year as indicated in the following table:

Cambridge English Exam types


Young Learners English: Starters


Young Learners English: Movers


Young Learners English: Flyers


Key for Schools