Home » Upper Secondary Curriculum

Upper Secondary Curriculum

(Cambridge Secondary 2 Curriculum)

In Upper Secondary we follow Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). IGCSEs are two year courses designed for 14 to 16 year olds. IGCSE courses are renowned for developing vital educational knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness.

IGCSEs are established qualifications that keep pace with educational developments and trends and so are an ideal foundation for higher level courses such as AS and A Levels. They are recognised throughout the world, by academic institutes and employers, as a mark of quality and evidence of real ability. Students typically sit seven or eight subjects in one session at the end of Grade 10. Schools can offer any combination of subjects with each subject being certificated separately. Over 70 subjects are available, including more than 30 language courses, offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities, interests and backgrounds. Assessment may include coursework, final examination, practical and oral tests. Five passes at ‘grade C’ or higher would indicate a student’s readiness to begin higher level pre-university programmes such as AS and A Levels, or the IB Diploma.

Subjects available in Spectrum International School

The following subjects are on offer for all students to choose for the examination:

  • 0610: Biology
  • 0620: Chemistry
  • 0625: Physics
  • 0510: English as a Second Language (Oral Endorsement)
  • 0580: Mathematics (Without Coursework)
  • 0417: Information and Communication Technology
  • 0532: Kazakh as a Second Language
  • 0516: First Language Russian
  • 0470: History
  • 0460: Geography 

Making entries for IGCSE

Grade 10 students of Spectrum International School are required to choose at least 5 subjects for IGCSE exam that is to be held in May/June series. It is totally up to students and their parents to make choices about these 5 subjects. While making decisions students should decide if they would like to take the IGCSE exam as individual subjects (any 5 subjects they like) or as a group award (Cambridge ICE).